This is searchable archive of our old support forums, which operated from 2012 - 2016. To find out how to get support for your current theme, please visit our support page.

selecting posts by catergory widget?

• Creator
    Topic
    khits
    Participant

This may be a stupid question, but I’d like to be able to use floating widgets in columns and have only posts from certain categories show up there. To be specific it would be three columns with three separate categories with the ability to feature a single post in each. I’m new at this so any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Jason Bobich
    Keymaster

Hello,

There are probably some different ways you could accomplish this. From the Layout Builder here’s one idea —

Don’t use any widgets or widget areas. Add a columns element and set it to three columns. For each column make the source “raw content” and do something like this:

[post_grid categories="your-category" columns="1" rows="1"]
    [mini_post_list categories="your-category" offset="1"]

Does that work?

khits
    Participant

Thanks Jason,
    I tried the code and it does the job singling out the category but it makes the post super skinny. I was hoping to use use your news scroller plugin set to just one post, but you can only use one instance of that it seems. Here’s a link to the page I’m just starting to frame out.
    http://www.mswc.hitsmandesign.com I’m trying to make it easy for the owners when I turn it over to them to list their weekly flights and beers etc.

Home is what I wanted, with the code you told me, but I think Home3 is probably what I’ll end up doing, linking to a page with the current info (Wine Flights). Can’t believe there’s not a current plugin that one could set to show only a post from a specific category.
    Thanks for the speedy help. I really like your themes and think your documentation and support are top notch.

Jason Bobich
    Keymaster