This is searchable archive of our old support forums, which operated from 2012 - 2016. To find out how to get support for your current theme, please visit our support page.

Changes in WP-editor not showing on site

• Creator
    Topic

Hi,

first off, I love this theme – very easy and intuitive to use.

I’ve watched your customisation video and installed the Akita Child theme in order to start introducing my own customisations, installed the WP-Editor plugin and used Firebug to start identifying the code to customise. I’ve set the Dark Purple colour scheme and copied over the Dark Purple CSS from colours.css into the WP-Editor.

Although I have tweaked some of the image files (they’re a bit rough & ready at the moment, will be tweaked further for a more elegant finish) I intend to use the WP-Editor to specify slightly different filenames in the child theme, so that when I update Akita, it won’t matter.

Please bear in mind I’m relatively new to CSS. When I identify the code to change using firebug, I find the equivalent in the WP Editor but when I change the code and save it, the changes don’t show up on the site. The elements I specifically want to change are in the box immediately around the video and its border:

http://presencedesign.co.uk/pbm/showreel/

I wasn’t sure that I’d copied over the right code, so I copied the code I changed in Firebug and put it in the WP-editor – but that had the effect of breaking the theme, so now about to rebuild.

OK, live & learn … but I’d really appreciate it if you could tell me where to find the right code, and what to put where, in order to have the changes from the WP-editor appear on the site.

Many thanks in anticipation for your help.

David

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Jason Bobich
    Keymaster

Hello,