This is searchable archive of our old support forums, which operated from 2012 - 2016. To find out how to get support for your current theme, please visit our support page.

Adding a Widget to Header Right

• Creator
    Topic
    sharonq
    Participant

Hey Jason – thanks for pointing out this forum on the codecanyon comments – this is a much better way to offer support. I am new to php – I have always used a framework in the past that allowed me to add widgets anywhere there was a hook simply by using their widget generator.

I’d like to have a widget in the header right area.

I read this: http://dev.themeblvd.com/tutorial/addremove-widget-area-location/

The first example ask me to :

Let’s say you want to add a new collapsible widget area up above the entire layout of the site. We’d have to first setup the widget area location.
    1 themeblvd_add_sidebar_location( ‘my_new_location’, ‘My New Location’,

umm – which file do I add this line to? I know that must be obvious to those familiar with WP but I want to be sure not to edit the wrong php – that could result in nasty surprises (and yes I do lots of backtups…)

If I want this in the header right would if read:
    themeblvd_add_sidebar_location( ‘header_widget’, ‘Header Right’, ‘collapsible’, ‘Widget for header’ );

the next step is to add:
    —————-
    function display_my_new_location() {
    echo ”;
    themeblvd_display_sidebar( ‘my_new_location’ );
    echo ”;
    }
    add_action( ‘themeblvd_before’, ‘display_my_new_location’ );
    ——
    does this go in the same file? a different file? does it matter where in the file I put it?

I do realize that customizations are not part of the support – but need a bit of a nudge in the right direction. Your documentation is excellent and I’m sure once I get the first few customizations done it will be easier – so far all the changes I’ve made are CSS within a child theme.

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Jason Bobich